Most people admit that, at least once, they’ve used their cell phone to send a text when they were driving. However, texting when you’re behind the wheel can be the cause of devastating and fatal accidents. Every year in the United States, approximately 500,000 people sustain serious injuries or die because of accidents caused by texting and driving. Most of these accidents could have been prevented if drivers had waited to send their texts until after they turned off their vehicles.
Texting While Driving in Tennessee Is Illegal
Not only is it possible to sustain life-altering injuries if you cause a crash because of distracted driving, you could also lose your life or be responsible for the wrongful death of someone else. Additionally, you can be fined if the police see you texting while driving. Tennessee has strict laws about cell phones and driving, including:
- Cell phone use is limited. Talking on a cell phone while driving is permitted in Tennessee. However, novice drivers, such as those who have a learner’s permit or an intermediary license, are prohibited from using their phones while driving.
- Texting is illegal. All drivers are prohibited from texting while driving. However, certain officials, such as campus police officers, officers of the state, and emergency medical technicians, are permitted to text while operating their vehicles if doing so is necessary.
The Consequences of Texting While Driving
Texting while driving is considered a “primary” offense in Tennessee. This means an officer can pull you over if he sees you texting without having to witness any other violation. If you are caught texting while operating a vehicle, you could face a fine of up to $50 plus court costs that aren’t to exceed $10. Novice drivers found guilty of texting while driving can face penalties of up to $100. They are also ineligible to apply for an intermediate or unrestricted driver’s license for an extra 90 days after they would have been otherwise eligible.
Accident Victims Caused by Texting Drivers Have Rights
If you were hurt in an auto accident caused by a driver who was texting while driving, you may be eligible to receive financial compensation, and the attorneys of GriffithLaw would like to help. Schedule your free case review by calling (615) 807-7900, and learn what we can do for you.